1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sidewalk Crews

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bodaggin, Feb 16, 2012.

1. bodaggin

bodaggin Banned
    from Canada

I am looking to get some ideas from the guys who use sidewalk crews. I am thinking down the road as I grow in size, how to efficiently service each kind of property, and how I will allocate those crews. Can someone who uses sidewalk crews, please shed some light on how you allocate the crews, and the structure you use that helps increase your efficiency.

Thanks

2. jhall22guitar

jhall22guitar PlowSite.com Addict

Im new to the business, but i do have a sidewalk crew, mainly because I started with just a blower last year and have now gotten a plow. I just have one guy driving the plow, one guy to shovel that rides with him. Then my sidewalk crew has their own truck with 2 blowers and a walk behind spreader. If we ever get behind I figure I can send them to a driveway to get it done quick, while still doing their route.

3. Italiano67

Italiano67 Senior Member

I send a reliable hard working guy out in a van with a single stage blower, spreader and bag salt. If we have a big storm he will pull a trailer with two 2 stage blowers. One for a backup. Usually he can handle all of my accounts. He takes care of about 10 medium size jobs.

4. viper881

viper881 Senior Member