1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Shoveling Prices??

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Buckhunter, Dec 9, 2008.

1. Buckhunter

Buckhunter Member

I have been plowing driveways for the last 3 years and have been charging $20 a plow. This year I have picked up another 15 drives that bring me to about 40 driveways and I have contracts on two commercial lots. I had been doing light shoveling the last few years for 25 of these driveways. Maybe takes 5 minutes in each driveway, just a small path to their porch or door. I hadn't been charging them for this and am wondering if it is ethichal for me to start charging them now. And if I don't charge them should I be charging my new customers to shovel? Just wondering what some others do or think?
  2. martyman

martyman Senior Member

I will only do one time plows when my 45 contracts are done. When I quote someone for one time plowing it depends on...

A. How much snow?
    B. Did you stop and offer or did they wave you down?
    C. Is it worth your time? steep driveways/vehicles in the way/ditches/trees/streams/fences
    D. Is the person disabled? elderly?

I could think of more things that could add to this but its your vehicle and time so I would set your rate at a minimum of $30 a plow if its small and $80 if its around 100 ft long unobstructed.
  3. tuney443

tuney443 PlowSite.com Addict

I wouldn't shovel at all--isn't it bad enough that plowing/sanding by itself is blood money,no way would I offer this.Especially for nothing.
  4. LoneCowboy

LoneCowboy PlowSite.com Addict

If I gotta get out of the truck for ANYTHING, it's at least $10
    I don't want to get out of the truck, it's cold and snowy out there.