1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Should I buy this?

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by NankoGroup, Aug 25, 2005.

1. NankoGroup

NankoGroup Junior Member

I am new to the plowing industry, I am also going into lawn care next spring. I found a good deal on a truck and need your advice on wether or not to buy it.

It is a 1986 Ford F350 Dually Stakebed with a 351 Windsor and a C6 Auto Trans, it also has an older Western Snow plow with joystick control, completely intact but due for some maintainence and adjustment. The truck needs a starter and will need tires soon. It has 3 belly boxes and overall it is in real good shape.

The only real downfall is that it is 2 wheel drive, I have already read the posts and understand the issues that this can cause.

I can pick it up for about $750, should I jump on it?

2. bterry

bterry Senior Member

Hmmm, $750 for a F350 Dually - and everything works. I wouldn't have wasted the time to post on this site if I were you. I'd be loading it up on the hauler...

Put a big v-box on it and use it for a salt rig/backup-cleanup plow truck.

3. Vaughn Schultz

Vaughn Schultz PlowSite.com Addict

Stop playing on plowsite :p and go buy that truck :D

4. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

If you can wrench that's a great price. The c-6 is cheap to have rebuilt,351's are everywhere. The starters 3 bolts, $60 for a rebuilt,mentally note how the wire bolts on, if you don't you will see why I said it.

5. NankoGroup

NankoGroup Junior Member

hey guys, thanks for the input, it looks like Im buying this truck!

6. NankoGroup

NankoGroup Junior Member