1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

shorted wires, truck won't start

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by nabraham, May 20, 2002.

1. nabraham

nabraham Junior Member

While changing the water pump on my 86 GMC Sierra 1500, I accidentally squeezed the wires in back of the alternator against a metal part, while tightening the adjusting bolt to the alternator,
    which in turn caused a short. Now my truck won't start but lights go on. Any suggestions as to what I should do? I'm a novice at this, and yes, I know I should've removed the battery cable before anything. Please help!!!

2. Chuck Smith

Chuck Smith 2000 Club Member
    from NJ

You cooked the fusable link. It is there to protect the wires from such a short. Most auto parts stores sell them, less than $10.

It is located on the firewall, behind the air cleaner. It is a short section of wire with a braided covering, usually red. It may be inside the plastic cover near the junction block on the fire wall by the wiper motor. trace the alternator wire and you will find it.

~Chuck

3. nabraham

nabraham Junior Member

Thanks for replying Chuck!
    I noticed that the alternator has two sets of wires, 1 screwed to the back and two wires incased in a plactic holder clip, both attached to the alternator in separate areas. The two wires in the plastic case looked as you put it, "cooked!!" Do I change the wire that is screwed to the alternator as well?