1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Shoe's or No shoe's

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by MOPIG74, Aug 23, 2006.

1. MOPIG74

MOPIG74 Junior Member

Im fairly new to plowing for myself,but have done so with my uncle's equiptment for a few year's now.My uncle never used the metal shoes on the bottom of his plow's,most of which were Meyer's. He alway's claimed that you could do a much cleaner job(to which I agree) and he alway's said-"If im gonna plow,im gonna plow" The shoe's to him ,didn't let the blade clean the lot's bare! My question to you guy's is ;How many of you guy's use the plow boot's ? and how many do not? Is plowing without them alot harder on your rig?
  2. rfed32

rfed32 Senior Member

do not and never did and never will unless i get a driveway that is stone and it snows b4 the 2nd week of dec(which i never had b4)
  3. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

I where a light weight steel toe hiking boot must of the time. No matter if I'm plowing frozen, unfrozen gravel, asphalt or concrete.:D

Sorrels are in the back seat just in case.prsport lol
  4. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

I like the new composite "tech" toe, it's warmer. Properly adjusted skid feet all the time
  5. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

I have always used the plow shoes. One to keep the shop door open and the other to keep the paper in place on my desk.xysport

No I have never used plow shoes. I plow only paved sites and I do believe that it scrapes better. I can get 5-6 years out of a cutting edge and a new one is $150 to $200. I plow at least 150 hours per year.
  6. MOPIG74

MOPIG74 Junior Member