1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Shoes on Plow

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by lowrider57, Nov 22, 2008.

1. lowrider57

lowrider57 Member

Newbie here with what might sound like a stupid question but only way I am going to learn this business is to ask the brains here,,,what is the reason for the shoes on the plow,,do you really need the shoes? Please if someone could explain what the shoes are for I"d really appreciate an answer thanks....

2. Indy

Indy Senior Member

Shoes can be set from zero to 5" or so..........the idea is if you are on uneven ground or soft ground or ground that can easily be damaged with the cutting edge of the plow .......you can set the shoes down instead of running with the cutting edge right on the ground............

With that said, most guys don't run'm......they put the plow right on the ground.

They do make great boat anchors and they are nice to tie balloons to and set in the yard for all types of occasions.......and they rust really nice.............but not much other than that.

Hope that helps

3. lowrider57

lowrider57 Member

Thank you for fast response,,,,

4. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic

So if you don't want the cutting edge to touch the ground use shoes, that's all there is to it.

5. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Do any of the "newbies" know how to use the search feature or can they not read the other posts about shoes????

6. Grampa Plow

Grampa Plow Senior Member
    from Midwest

Hi Hydro...I am a relative newbie and I didn't know anything about the search feature until someone else mentioned it to me. Now I know! Thanks to you, now he knows!