1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Shared Driveway

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by allstarlawncare, Sep 30, 2010.

1. allstarlawncare

allstarlawncare Member

This is going to be my first year plowing on my own and I am bidding on a shared driveway. The driveway is about 200 feet long by 25 foot wide and then it branches off at the top to the two driveways. Those two driveways are both about 100 foot long by 2 cars wide. I am thinking it is somewhere near 8000 sq feet. I was thinking it to be about $750 for 20 pushes.

Am I anywhere close? this is my first time with something of this size

2. mycirus

mycirus Senior Member
    from Mass

So assuming that the 2 driveways split thats 18.75 per push per house? Sounds low to me but I dont know your market there.

3. bullettooth81

bullettooth81 Senior Member

I would agree that it sounds low. But I do know how it is starting out. I'm on my second year and would take about any paying plow job!

4. allstarlawncare

allstarlawncare Member

that may be a little low, but you are right I could use any job I can get right now

5. Jguck25

Jguck25 Senior Member

honestly do not take anything that low just because you need the job.. very bad idea in many aspects. yes you will get the job, but why take a job and not make any money on it? id rather not wear out all my equipment not to make any money. if the truck breaks down, what money do you use to fix it? you just lost all your profit.
    In my opinion, I wouldnt want that place unless it was around 1500 a year.

6. RLM

RLM PlowSite.com Addict