1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Setting up seasonal contracts

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Sudsy81, Nov 12, 2008.

1. Sudsy81

Sudsy81 Junior Member

He everyone, I'm new to this part of the business and was wondering if anyone could help me out? Just wondering how you setup a seasonal contract for snow and what you base it on so that you possibly don't get burned if it snows like crazy. Any help would be much appreciated.

2. azandy

azandy Member

I'm against seasonal contracts but if you need to do one for the customers sake, figure out the job. If the job should take an average to plow say an hour. Figure the average snows per year that you will have to plow. Add up the forcasted hours. maybe add a few for good math and charge your rate. Usually this is high. You might think good, I'll make more money. Chances are you won't get the contract or if you do, the customer might say, well, it only snowed 6 times and you figured 20. I should get a refund. If you bid it lower to get it, you can easily get burned with a big winter. I've found over the years by charging per plow or per hour, it is more accurate for both you and them. They are happier and easier to retain for the long term. Also we are able to get a lot more work from them year round if they don't feel they got robbed from you in winter.
  3. redman6565

redman6565 PlowSite.com Addict

In order to do an accurate seasonal contract you have to know the average trips you make during a winter season, how much (inches) snow falls on average per each "snowfall". If you dont know this then it will be difficult to cover yourself.
  4. PLCI

PLCI Member
    from Maine