1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sent A Polite Cancellation Notice

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by thelettuceman, Oct 3, 2013.

1. thelettuceman

thelettuceman PlowSite.com Addict

I recently informed a commercial account that I would not be plowing their parking lots this year. I have been plowing their property for 3 years. The last time I plowed a 2" snow fall, I got a phone call telling me to adjust my trigger to 3" from 2". I would not have a problem with this except for the legal exposure. The risk / reward ratio is not worth it to me. Any Thoughts?
  2. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 PlowSite Fanatic

Too many people are worried about the legal exposure. If you have it in writing that is what you are hired to do, what's the exposure?

I would have cancelled just on the fact it's a commercial place that wants a 3" trigger.
  3. birddseedd

birddseedd PlowSite Veteran

I agree. from what others here at plowsite have shared of their lawyers advice, the main thing is if you do the work per contracted requirements. if its in writing the trigger is 3 inches, you have proof you did exactly what the client requested. From there its their decision. not yours. thus their liability.

Same as a client that does not want salting after an ice storm. Noone can win a law suite against you, the company did not buy salting service. (they can still sue you or anyone else, question is who will win, fulfill the contracted services and usually you will win)(from what others have said on this site when they were sued)
  4. BC Handyman

BC Handyman PlowSite.com Addict