1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Self Install?

Discussion in 'Hiniker' started by kid6725, Nov 15, 2006.

1. kid6725

kid6725 Junior Member

Hi....Im a newb at snowplowing and on the forum....I have been searching the posts for a while trying to gather information on plows. My question is how hard is it to install a plow yourself? I have a 2003 Chevy Crew with the diesel engine and I have been looking at the Hinker 7'6" and 8". I have installed the B/W turnover gooseneck hitch and I am fairly handy with fixing my vehicles. Is it worth it to try and install a plow myself? I know most people say it takes 7-8 hours.
  2. Proscapez LLC

Proscapez LLC Senior Member

I did mine and it wasnt so bad, The hard part for me was puting the upper truck mount on in the front where the tow hooks are. (the ears on the upper frame mount was bent)
    You will have to drill two 1/2" holes into your frame 1 on each side.
    but i didnt have to remove my bumper or trim it.
    Hiniker makes it sound like its a hard job, but I did it by myself and save a bunch of cash.

It's so easy to put on and take off.

But compared to my old meyer, Hiniker is far above them in quailty.
  3. kid6725

kid6725 Junior Member

That doesnt sound bad than..

thanks for the response..
  4. Proscapez LLC

As I stated in another post I have the owners manuel in a PDF format, I can email it to you if you look at it first.
  5. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

I installed mine my self also.

It's not that hard to do.
    Plus it's kind of fun putting them together.
  6. kid6725

kid6725 Junior Member

that would be great...

7. turk

turk Junior Member