1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Seeking Guidance

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by NEWFINISH, Aug 28, 2009.

1. NEWFINISH

NEWFINISH Junior Member

I am relatively new to plowing and and looking to gain some more information. I am based out of the Detroit area and I have an 01 Chevy Silverado 2500HD and I have been cosidering plowing. I have zero experience but a lot of my lawn clients have been inquiring about plowing. I have a few light commercials (gas stations, Car washes and nursing homes) and they are looking to get me to do it because I do the grass. Out of curiosity I asked them how much were they paying the last guy and they have been telling me $35-$40 per push with no salt. I thought it sounded kinda crazy because the price sounded to low because of the risk of running into gas pumps or people in the way and I figured they would be trying to push the liability on me for the salt. Im in between on plowing because I don't want to put wear and tear on my truck for pennies but at the same time I don't want to lose out on a good opportunity if it presents itself. I have been looking at Boss plows and Snoways as well and would like to get some input on which would be the best one to get. I was looking to buy used and want to know what to look out for when going that route. I want to know is there anything specifically I should do to the truck before it gets cold as far as maintenance, specific tires etc. I know it is a lot to read but I want to get some good input. I too at one point like a lot of other posters on the site didn't think there was a lot that goes into plowing but reading other posts I realize that a lot lies in front of me.