1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Seasonal contract with cap

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Brant'sLawnCare, Sep 27, 2012.

1. Brant'sLawnCare

Brant'sLawnCare PlowSite.com Addict

Do any of you do this? I had a large potential new customer ask me for a seasonal with 3 different amount options, each with a cap. Meaning if it snows more than they are paying for, it would turn into a "per push" type of a contract. Do you have a salting cap seperate, or does it just go by the number of inches that fall? I'm new to this type of contract.

Thanks,

Brant

2. John143

John143 Senior Member
    from NEPA PA

I have not done any contracts like that. However, I did get two different customers asking for pricing like that so far this year. It's been a weird bidding season to say the least. What I usly do in that case is start off with your per-push price X the number of storms in your area for the year. Thats your seasonal price. Then just give them the per-push price that you used to give them the seasonal price. Any case, good luck. that's the way I do it.

3. merrimacmill

merrimacmill PlowSite.com Addict
    from MA

This is preferable and you should consider yourself lucky to find a prospect that actually wants or expects that over a unlimited contract.