1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

season contract with a cap

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by snowguys, Feb 18, 2009.

1. snowguys

snowguys Senior Member

ok so this is my first year with this company and i had a inside guy so i knew who i was biding with some of the big companys around here but anyways this year contract was a season contract with a 40inch cap so anyhting after 40 would be a per push has anyone else herd of this i havent and i put in a 3 year contract starting next year with the same thing but now my guy got let go and they want a contract with no cap for 3 years.

thanks brian
  2. Krimick77

Krimick77 Member

Yes, some contractors have caps in their seasonal contracts. What are your yearly snowfall averages? With that information you should be able to decide if you can operate without the cap. Are you over your cap for this year?
  3. snowguys

snowguys Senior Member

yea we are we were up in dec so it has been good it just sucks they want no cap for next year
  4. augerandblade

augerandblade PlowSite.com Addict

Any contract where you haveta put people and a lot of equipment & material on their site should have a cap. The big companies ((some of em)) e.g. Walmart here in town dont wanna give a contract with a cap. How are ya gonna price it then when you have no idea (other than average snowfalls per season). And why should we as the little guy haveta payup when it snows or freezes rain more than the seasonal average.
  5. beam

beam Senior Member
    from pa

We go buy saltings and unlimited plowing
  6. TCLA

TCLA 2000 Club Member