1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jcoria, Nov 2, 2011.

1. jcoria

jcoria Junior Member

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to running my plowing business, I have plowed before but never did the salting myself. Always subbed for other people. I have to price a parking lot and the owner wants me to give them a price for sanding. Can someone please explain to me what the difference is between that and regular salting. Thank you
  2. dfd9

dfd9 PlowSite.com Addict

In the salting service you apply salt to melt snow and ice.

By sanding, you have to have a lot of time and extension cords as well as a really large belt or orbital sander to be efficient.
  3. superdog1

superdog1 Senior Member

In some places, they not only apply just salt or ice melt, but a mix of salt and some type of aggregate like sand or stone dust. It is claimed that by mixing the two, you get a better end result? While I have never used anything but salt or calcium chloride, there are plenty of places on the web that claim a mix is just so much better. I can not substantiate these claims?

I do know that in the bad winters of 93/94 and again in 95/96, a lot of municipalities ran out of salt with no way to get any more inventory. When that happened, they started using straight sand. I would assume that it helped and was better than nothing? Good luck in finding your answer.:)
  4. dfd9

dfd9 PlowSite.com Addict

Neither can they.
  5. jhenderson9196

jhenderson9196 Senior Member

Salt melts ice,sand provides traction on icey surfaces.
  6. jcoria

jcoria Junior Member