1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sanding price question, newbie

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by hackitdown, Dec 12, 2013.

1. hackitdown

hackitdown Member

I did some searches on Plowsite, but no luck. Hope you can help.

I have been plowing residential driveways for 7 years now, But I have never offered sanding. Based on customer demand, I just bought a small sander. The problem is that I have no idea how to price out the sanding service.

I plow around 40 driveways per storm, and 2 very small lots. Most of my driveways are very long. A 200' or 300' driveway is not unusual, and I have a 650' one. I charge from $60 to $100 to plow these long hilly driveways for a typical storm up to 6 inches. We usually get 10 or 12 plowable storms per year.

I plan to use 50/50 sand-salt mix. I can buy small quantities of bulk material for about $90 per yard delivered. Once it is in my yard, I can load it myself into the sander. The sander holds about 1/3 of a yard. That part is easy.

The guy that sold me the sander claims that you can charge as much or more for sanding than the plowing charge. Does that sound right?

Thanks in advance.
  2. quigleysiding

quigleysiding PlowSite.com Addict

The guy that sold me the sander claims that you can charge as much or more for sanding than the plowing charge. Does that sound right

Commercial yes. Driveways not so much at least not the ones I do. You shoud try to find a better deal on the sand and salt mix. I can get it for 65 a yard. Place is open whenever it snowing. I just pull in and they load me up. All areas are different though.

Check in the bidding and estamating threads for pricing in your area.
  3. NortheastSNO

NortheastSNO Member