1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

sanding price advise

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by remtech1, Jan 17, 2006.

1. remtech1

remtech1 Junior Member

i've been plowing driveways for about 20 yrs. and just in the last 4 or 5 started doing some small parking lots (gas station daycare resteaunt etc.) i think i've done alright on plowing prices ( allways per push) . this year i got a good deal on a 2? yrd. sander, but have never offered this service before.salt/sand mix is about 38 a ton or about 100 to fill the hopper.is there any advise how to formulate a price? 50% add on price unfair? or maybe a cost plus formula? bany advise appreciated.

2. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

i double the price it cost me for what i put down. $38/ton spread 1 ton it will cost them $76.

3. remtech1

remtech1 Junior Member

sanding pricing

i'm glad i got the sander for cheap. :D 100. profit on a full hopper doesn't sound alot , but then i am near the shoreline. do you use that same formula if it's an ice storm and are sanding only or is it only if your'e there plowing anyway?

4. remtech1

remtech1 Junior Member

new thought

just thinkin maybe thats why i got a good deal on the sander,andwhy the guy i got it from isn't doing that anymore. hmmm. thanks for your'e input:waving:

5. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine