1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Salting while it's raining

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by DodgeBlizzard, Jan 6, 2005.

1. DodgeBlizzard

DodgeBlizzard Senior Member

This is my first year salting. I must say, it's not as easy as I used to think it was. How much to put down, when to start applying, etc. Anyways, we were borderline with this storm today. First it rained, then came the freezing rain, a couple inches of snow, then we got about maybe 1/2" of sleet on top of it all. I started salting yesterday afternoon when it changed from rain to snow, only after it started laying. It was raining when I got up around 4:30 am. My question is if it was raining at 4:30 am and I start plowing, and it's now 8 am, it's in the high 30's (been raining very steady, sometimes heavy), should I go without salting or still salt. The lots were wet and clear except for the occasion low spot. I get a call at noon (four hours after the lot was plowed) and wants to know why there's no salt on the lot. I said it's in the high 30's and been raining since I got up. I thought it would just be a waste of time and money. My thought was that the heavy rains would just wash it away and making it useless. This is a brand new account and it sounds like they want me to salt no matter what after each plowing. But I still want your opinions on how you would have handled it. Your thoughts? Any help would be great. Thanks.

2. sonjaab

sonjaab PlowSite.com Addict

DODGE........Even if the salt melts it becomes a brine that shouldn't freeze
    But alas the customer can't see the salt and figures there is none out there.