1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Salting Question

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by nherweck, Dec 21, 2005.

1. nherweck

nherweck Junior Member

OK...this is my first year providing any snow removal and I was asked to salt a driveway for a customer. I will only be salting about 4 driveways this year, as I'm going to start out easily with only snow throwers, shovels, and salt/spreaders. I have a little fert. spreader that I can use. What kind of salt should I purchase and where should I purchase it at? I'm looking for more of a residential store to purchase from as I don't plan on pushing far this year with it. Thanks and any help would be excellent!!

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Get Halite in 50 or 80 pound bags. From any farm supply store. You might find rock salt at Home Depot.

3. lawnmedic

lawnmedic Senior Member

Check CWS Cincinnati Wholesale Supply. They have a location in northern KY. and one in Fairfield. They only sell by the skid(49 50lb bags), but with the reduced price it will make it worth while. Price 2 weeks ago was 171.00 a skid plus tax(if your not tax exempt). Thats 3.49 a bag, Lowes by me is getting 6.99 a bag.

I store left overs at the end of the season in a dirt floor barn for next year, with no problems.....

4. golden arches

golden arches Senior Member

Check your farmer supplies. I buy by the skid (49 50# bags) at $3.00 a bag, or $147.00 a skid.

5. lawnmedic

lawnmedic Senior Member