1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Salting only?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Lynden-Jeff, Jul 18, 2006.

1. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff PlowSite.com Addict

Hey,

Well this is my first year in the landscape business. Since im only 20 plowing insurance is insane. I was recommended by a friend to do salting/pretreatment only. Is this feasible? We really don't have much snow now or at least we didn't last year in southern Ontario but ice is a way bigger problem. Is it true that you probably wouldn't need plowing insurance for salting?

Cheers
    Jeff

2. plowinginma

plowinginma Senior Member
    from MA

there is even more liability in just salting .. and you had best have insurance because its not if , but when someone falls and sues ya ... be covered and be safe ..

3. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

I would have to agree with plowinginma. If a customer tells me they don't want salting or only on call then I will not be responsible for slip and falls.

4. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine