1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Salt, Sand, or Both?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Green Boys Lawn, Dec 4, 2006.

1. Green Boys Lawn

Green Boys Lawn Junior Member

I'm new to this, and we don't get a whole lot of frozen precip around here, so customers don't really seem to know what they want or need. I get people asking for me to apply salt or ice melt. Others want sand, and some want both. What do you guys do? Do you always apply a sand/salt mix, or is there times when just one or the other should be applied. Also, how much should I apply per say 1,000 sq. ft.? Thanks
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Ice management is a tricky subject. First, I'd advise giving the customer what he/she wants, if it fits with the equipment and material at your disposal and that you have educated the customer on the benefits/limitations of each product (and that's supposing that you know in the first place).

Briefly, salt (or an ice-melt product) should be on any surface other than dirt or gravel. Sand (or a sand/salt mix) should be used on gravel or dirt surfaces. Salt can be used as an anti-icer or a de-icer. Anti-icing is putting down salt before it snows to prevent snow and ice from bonding to the surface. Anti-icing is putting salt on top of snow and ice. It will take more salt to do the job as an anti-icer than a de-icer. But there is the risk that an event will come as rain which will simply melt the salt and be a wasted expense. Some contractors would eat this expense, some do not.