1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

salt question

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by bigboss1977, Dec 8, 2011.

1. bigboss1977

bigboss1977 Senior Member
    from Utah

So I have a new customer that wants me to salt his parking lot, but wants me to use water softener salt because he has heard its better on the asphalt....causing less damage. Has anyone ever heard of this? I'm fairly new to the salting part of the business and have never heard this one.

2. Brian Young

Brian Young PlowSite Veteran

Never heard of that at all. If it's less harmful, it's probably less potent so to speak. I know it does work, a guy I know used it a few times when salt was non existent here a few years ago.

3. Tbrothers

Tbrothers Senior Member

He's crazy salt is salt plain and simple. Some salt seems to work better just because of the size of the crystal. But its all harmful in some way.

4. bigboss1977

from Utah

Yeah that's what I tried to tell him. Do people actually use water softener salt? I guess those that use the tailgate salters and the bagged salt products.

5. Longae29

Longae29 PlowSite.com Addict

Most of the people that use water softener salt on their parking lots ride camels to work.

6. bigboss1977

from Utah

Lol I like that.

7. Dagwell

Dagwell Junior Member

Im in the water softening business and i can buy softening salt aka solar salt cheaper than halite or any other bagged rock salt. That is the reason i use it otherwise its the same crap. The bags are filled with the same machines in the same plant they just write a different name on the bag.

Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
  8. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict