1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Salt dust

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by KenP, Dec 10, 2002.

1. KenP

KenP Senior Member

I've recently broke down and bought three SnowEx tailgate spreaders. I've been pretty loyal to the old walk behinds, so I'm new to the whole get my trucks completely covered in salt dust club. I've been told to spray WD-40 on the tailgate prior to going out, however I've been a little neverous about screwing up my paint. Anyone have any ideas or tricks they use? Please do tell!

Ken

2. JohnnyU

JohnnyU 2000 Club Member

For starters I take my gate off, more visibility and easier to access stuff in the bed with the spreader on. I use a 2x8 just for security. I dont do much extra, just wash it down really good when I'm done, but I always have done that. Even before I salted the truck would get completely covered in salt from roads, and other lots, so now I just have to wash the rear around the salter area extra thoroughly :D

3. SnowGodFather

SnowGodFather Member

There is a patrolium by product in WD40 that will eat your paint.

Just hose it off, soap it up and rinse it real good and it will never know there was any on it.

Also you drive in the salt anyways so what difference does it make to get it all over your truck.

4. Lawn Lad

Lawn Lad Senior Member