1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Salt Dogg Spreader Question

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by carcrz, Dec 20, 2006.

1. carcrz

carcrz Senior Member

I bought a SS Salt Dogg spreader for doing some shopping center sidewalks. This last storm was the first time I got to use it & I have to say I was not overly impressed. It worked very well, except the spreading path was directed towards the left & kept hitting the back left part of the frame instead of directly front & center. Any ideas as to what might be wrong? I like this spreader, but it is almost worthless if it doesn't spread in the right direction. :dizzy:

2. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping 2000 Club Member

I'm no pro, but, what motor is on it? if it electric, is it wired backwards so the motor spins the wrong way?

3. StratfordPusher

StratfordPusher Senior Member

BEWARE Defective Salt Dogg Walk Behind Sreaders

All
    Purchased a new SS walk behind unit, paid 375.00 cdn for the stainless model,
    Was dealer assembled.

Lasted less then (1) 80 lb bag of fresh salt.

Drive is made of hard plastic, broke into a bunch of pieces
    after about 80 feet of sidewalk. Checked the salt, no lumps, clumps and was free flowing.
    Dealer stated that the small pin in the spinner shaft should not have been installed. Without the pin, salt must free fall onto the spinner wheel.... YA RIGHT..... don't work without the spinner pin....Dealer offered and did repair the unit no charge...

I would never buy another Salt Dogg sander or for that matter any unit with plastic anywhere on the drive line.. my dealer is returning this defective model and replacing it with the NEW updated Salt Dogg with the new steel drive line.....