1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sales Tax???

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by snyps, Oct 3, 2006.

1. snyps

snyps Senior Member

So I have been plowing for the past 8 years, and this is my second year with my own equipment. I am not in this full time, I have a normal 40+ hour job (computers). I mainly sub contract but have been getting into doing some of my own contracts. This year I have 5 people signed up for about $1500 in total services.

Should I charge sales tax and figure out how to pay it, or should this just be a little side thing? Also if I wanted to be completly legit, how do I go about it?

I am in the WNY area if it matters any..

2. Big Dog D

Big Dog D PlowSite.com Addict

Sales tax is only on products that are sold and not services. As long as you are not billing out the product seperately you don't need to worry, provided you are paying the tax when you buy it.

ie; Sanding service that is preformed for a customer; If you bill and list it on an invoice as just a sanding service at $150 you are all set. If you bill it and itemize it as, Sand truck and operator .5 hours @ $100 and 2 yds of sand mix @ $50 per yard you are obligated to charge and pay the sales tax on the $100 product used.

I learned this via a Sales Tax Audit courtesy of Uncle Sam!!! It's about as much fun and as revealing as a Colonoscipy(sp?) :eek: :eek: :eek:
  3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine