1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Safety Question

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by sailscall01, Nov 15, 2005.

1. sailscall01

sailscall01 Member

This will be my first season plowing and I have seen other plowers with safety lights attached to the top of their trucks. My question is, what do you guys prefer strobe blinking lights or the rotating lights.. What else could you recommend for a new guy when it comes to being seen at night.. Thanks for all your help in advance.:salute:

2. go plow

go plow Senior Member

i have been plowing for many years now, ive tried many lights, remember this, lights or no lights on your truck, people will still park in your way, people will still see that your backing up in a parking lot and still pull up behind you, so i guess what im tying to say is dont think that because you have lights on your truck your safe!!!! always keep an eye on things, ive plowed a condo at 2am thinking that nobody will be in and out at that time, and i still ended up backing into a car that pulled up behind me waiting for me to clean his parking spot!!!!! as for what i use for lights, i use led's, keep it safe and hope you do well this year!!! good luck

3. justme-

justme- 2000 Club Member

It's preference- you'll get 100 opinions each differeing on which to use. It's your first season I would recomend something effective but relativly inexpensive- like a single magnet strobe or a small rotating light bar. Strobe can be had for around $50, small lightbar for around $100. Lightbar will give more light.

4. Herz

Herz Junior Member