1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

?'s about the Blizzard plows

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by jdw1, Dec 29, 2010.

1. jdw1

jdw1 Junior Member

First off i am not trying to start any trouble!

You can tell by my sig i have an old plow (12 years). I have been plowing since 1982.

I went in the local Blizzard dealer in the twin citys today to look at new plows. Talked to one of the owners for about an hour, got all the info and was considering a new plow. I did mention to him about the comments I have heard about high maintaince, he said not any more than others. Ok, didn't really answer the question.

On the way out the door walking back to my truck, i was looking at a new truck in the lot with new PP on it, a customer walking behind me says "don't buy a blizzard", I said why not, he says "very high maintance", he says "I just spend a 1'000.00 bucks on more parts" the key word to me was "MORE". He continued to tell me he had 6 Blizzards and never again. I relize he had drivers in all his trucks but this is what i have heard before.

So my question is, is this all true or am i just hearing all the bad, or do you have to be extra carefull with these Blizzard's, I can see the advantage of the PP plow, but i have not spent a dime on my old Diamond since day one other than change fluid and one cyclinder. i am not looking the hear about how much faster you can plow a lot, i can see that just by looking at the plow.

Thanks in advance.
  2. JohnnyU

JohnnyU 2000 Club Member

They have additional moving parts compared to regular straight blades, probably 2-3x the amount of parts actually. That in and of itself means that those parts will wear out etc...