1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

RT3 leaking fluid from breather on dismount

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by 86f350, Oct 18, 2011.

1. 86f350

86f350 Member

i have a RT3 that leaks out of the breather when u dismount it. as soon as you pull the pins the cylinder compresses and lights tower falls down on its own and pumps fluid out of the breather. WHen you hook it up one guy has to hold the controller and the other guy has to put the pins in, it will not stay up by its self. Cartridge stuck? which one? Im new to these bosses. Thanks

2. Deckscapes

Deckscapes Senior Member

Did you overfill the reservoir? You should only add enough fluid to just see it in the bottom of the fill tube and not full to the top of the fill tube. The light tower should actually be powered down and not let down by itself or be pushed down as it can entrain air into the hydraulic system and will leak out of the breather cap.

3. 86f350

86f350 Member

I added 2 qts and it was to the bottom of fill neck with cylinder compressed. I took the smarthitch cartridge out and its stuck and won't move. So I guess its the cartridge

4. 86f350

86f350 Member