1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Rough parking lot

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by lagwagon, Dec 18, 2009.

1. lagwagon

lagwagon Member

First, though, I need a vehicle to plow with, then comes the plow! I am looking at older Jeep's vs. Chev Blazer vs. Chev or Ford Pickup. I will be using the plow setup in the following environment:

1/4 acre parking lot - which is mostly very old and rough ashphalt, the rest is gravel.
    30 degree incline 50 feet long by 15 feet wide drive way entrance
    200 feet of sidewalk

I have limited plowing experience, but I have been able to ride with a friend that plows commercial.

Any suggestions on equipment? I am definitely looking at a used vehicle and most likely a used plow. The vehicle and plow will most likely stay on the lot, so I don't need road worthy or insurable equipment. My budget is low!

Thanks for your guidance.
  2. NorthernSvc's

NorthernSvc's Senior Member

:eek: your not going to insure it???? what are you gonna do if you hit a car... or person... if thats the case your better off getting a tractor...
  3. Pushin 2 Please

Pushin 2 Please PlowSite Veteran

You still need to insure it even if it does leave the lot. You do not need to put plates on it.
  4. lagwagon

lagwagon Member

I appreciate your concern for insurance, however, I should have specified it is a private family owned parking lot. There will be no 3rd party bodily injury or property damage. The plow vehicle will only be used on this private property; it would not be on public roads.

Can we shift back to the vehicle and plow part...

5. Pushin 2 Please

Pushin 2 Please PlowSite Veteran

WOW! VW Bug with a 8'6" Western plow should do the job.