1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Rough % Markup on Subcontractors

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Stoneheadmtn, Sep 6, 2008.

1. Stoneheadmtn

Stoneheadmtn Member

I've been plowing as an operator off and on part time since 1978. Some big lots and some small jobs but always more as a "paying hobby" than as a prime revenue source. Last season we took on a few commercial jobs as a sub for a large bidder from out of town and the clients now are asking us to bid the jobs direct. These jobs paid well enough that we're looking at adding more equipment. Are you paying subs 90% of the bid? 75%? 50%?
    I don't want to lowball the jobs but do want them. The client has alot more accts to offer in my area and I want to keep them happy looking to add more of their accts. next year. If I add 20% to what we were paid last year (as a sub) should that be close? These are per push/salt/shovel/calcuim bids. My impression is that the original bidder was making a good sized chunk off the jobs, judging by the NEW Mercedes SUV's he and his wife drive, but he bids a crapload of work so who knows? Thanks, Jon
  2. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

umm l really dont know.. but if i paid you 75 , i would at least be charging 100
  3. Stoneheadmtn

Stoneheadmtn Member

Thanks. I don't mind being a little low but didn't want to undershoot last year to far.
  4. elite1msmith

from chicago

salting , i have no clue what to tell you the relationship is, were you paid per applicaiton, ? per ton? or jsut your hourly rate?
  5. Stoneheadmtn

Stoneheadmtn Member

per aplication/push