1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Rookie question

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Cobra 427 SO, Jan 4, 2003.

1. Cobra 427 SO

Cobra 427 SO Junior Member

I'm new to this , in fact I havent started plowing yet.

So before I get myself in a mess I thought I'd ask some questions, please bear with me, I'm sure these are silly questions to the veterans but the answers would help me out quite a bit.

1) Why is it most of the plow truck's are F-150's or Chev Sierra's? I was thinking about buying a 1979 Ford Fullsize Bronco. I'd rather have a sport ute type of truck for the summer months to go off roading and in my experience I prefer a sport ute over a pick up. What would be the draw back's to buying the Bronco over a F-150? Is there an advantage to the longer wheel base in a pick up truck?

2) What kind of expenses am I looking at during the plow season?

3) What should I look for in a truck to ensure the least amout of head ache , down the road.

2. Earthscapes

Earthscapes Senior Member
    from WNY

1. can't tell you too much about 1/2 tons cause most plow trucks around here are 3/4 or 1 tons. There are a few guys running bronco's but i personally don't like them because of visiblity reasons.

2.Expenses: well fuel is #1,,insurance is #2,, then anything you break will all add up so there is really no given amount because anything can happen and will at some point.

3. Headache's if you can find the perfect truck let me know and i'll go buy one. This basically goes back to question # 2.

3. Highpoint

Highpoint Senior Member

No Play

If you are serious about starting to plow snow there is one thing that you must understand. Play time is OVER!