1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

rookie mistakes

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by illday, Oct 16, 2003.

1. illday

illday Junior Member
    from RI

I am a landscaper by trade and have never snowplowed. (this will be my 1st year)
    I have used the search engine on this site and it has
    answered most of my questions. Here are a remaining questions
    that I couldn't find answers for.

Seeing how it's my 1st season snowplowing and I only plan on
    doing residential driveways. How many driveways should I
    be able to plow per snowfall? I don't want to take on more
    work than I can handle.

I have found some great sample contracts on this site
    that feature a base price that increase per inches of
    snowfall. What is a typical base price for a single car driveway
    and a double car driveway?

Originally I planned on charging a base price for unlimited
    pushes per a 24 hour period on driveways. Will this work out?
    I've never done this so I don't want to make any mistakes
    bidding accounts. I especially don't want to lose lawn accounts
    because my plow prices are too high. (a good # of my accounts
    are elderly and can pinch a penny)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
  2. CPSS

CPSS Senior Member

"Originally I planned on charging a base price for unlimited
    pushes per a 24 hour period on driveways. Will this work out?
    I've never done this so I don't want to make any mistakes