1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Rookie Mistakes

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by 100InchHammer, Dec 16, 2010.

1. 100InchHammer

100InchHammer Member

Here's the events of my first day of plowing.

A little history first. I am completely new to plowing, so each and every day is a learning experience. In Sept. I purchased a 79 Chevy shortbed, Full Time 4WD w/ a Western cable operated plow. The truck sat for a few years so there has been quite a bit of repairs and maintenance needed to get ready for the plow season. I thought I had everything covered. Repaired Items: Brake lines, Master Cylinder, Carb, Vacuum Lines, Heater, Lots of Electrical ietms, front hub bearings and hub, fuel tank, Plow cables and hoses, etc...

First real snow Tues Dec 14, 2010...there was 6-8 inches waiting for me on this morning. Roads were bad, visibility wasn't good but all was ok.

3am: Got an early start to get my drives cleared before the customers leave for work.

3:20am: Stop at Speedway, get a lg cup of coffee. My truck doesn't have a cup holder so I set it on the dash, leaning it against the windshield...seemed stable enough.

Shortly after I arrive at my first stop. I take extra care to do a good job...I believe in quality first and speed will follow. Upon leaving I hit a bump in the road, the coffee that I have yet to take a sip of cause it was to hot is now on my lap and on my new seat cover...my leg is soaked and quite hot I may add and the cup is somewhere under my feet. I'm really pissed at myself for not taking the free cup holder offered to me by my buddy just 4 days ago.