1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

rookie here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by bryanR, Oct 18, 2009.

1. bryanR

bryanR Member

hey guys im new to this plowing business but i have always wanted to plow since i was a little kid and now that i am legal to drive im ready to plow this winter. im just having trouble finding a truck that can help me get started. ive been looking for dodge 1500/2500 and i keep finding a couple here and but they get taken before i even can call the guy. any tips on how to get started. thanks!

2. Chrisxl64

Chrisxl64 Senior Member
    from CT

Before I go any further,,,Are you 18?

3. bryanR

bryanR Member

17. im only go to do residential stuff. nothing huge yet

4. Chrisxl64

Chrisxl64 Senior Member
    from CT

My best advice though I'm sure I'll get bashed by many on here, for killing the dreams of America's youth, is to wait a year, in the mean time get on someone local's crew to learn about the biz.

Waiting until your 18 will most importantly make you a legal adult and not leave your parents open to any legal liabilty you may incur. At your age you can't technically enter a legally binding agreement, such as getting your own INSURANCE.

There are just too many variables that are beyond your control, between being a minor, being a newly licensed driver, being in school, etc etc etc, I fully support your ambition but I'm offering what I think is good advice.
    Go head guys start beating me over the head for making kids cry. :)

5. NorthernSvc's

NorthernSvc's Senior Member