1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Rochester NY Sub Wages?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by junior426, Nov 23, 2010.

1. junior426

junior426 Junior Member

Hey guys, been lurking for a couple months now and figured with winter on it's way that I would work on getting prepped to try my hand at plowing. With that said, I'm not a rookie, I have been plowing my parents and neighbors driveways for a couple years now, and have grown up on everything from ATV's to backhoes, skidsteers, etc. I've got/ in the process of buying a truck and plow set up from my Dad. It is a 2005 F250, diesel, crew cab, short box, plow package, with an 8' Boss straight blade. I would like to make some extra cash this winter outside of my day job. I know that will limit me to job opportunities, but I can't rely on just plowing for my paycheck at this point. The biggest thing I am looking for is what people in the area are paying for sub-contractors. Got a few other questions, but that is the important one to start with.

2. Tubby's Snow Plowing

Tubby's Snow Plowing Senior Member

Best way to find that out is call around to companies in the yellow pages that perform plowing and ask if they are hiring subs and what price.

3. South Seneca

South Seneca Senior Member

Why sub?
    Get your truck, insurance etc, and put out some advertising. You should get plenty of work around Rochester.
    Just per realistic with your prices so you don't screw yourself, along with all the guys who know what it really costs to operate, and do charge accordingly.

4. junior426

junior426 Junior Member