1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Right equipment for our property?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Chandlerarms, Nov 9, 2011.

1. Chandlerarms

Chandlerarms Senior Member

First off - Hey!

I am completely new to this. Basic background is that we have a family business - 50 unit apartment complex with approx 85 parking spots split into two lots (front & back). My brother, cousin @ I do alot of the property maintenance, but we do have a "live in manager" who also does maintenance.

I realize that plowing is not that easy, and does take knowledge and the proper equipment. We are looking for a plow set up. # 1. to save on the yearly expense, and # 2 adding a truck to the property for the obvious benefits that a truck provides year round. The idea is that the property manager (has no experience) will plow the lot. He can take his time, go slow and do it right. There is no rush to hurry and go from account to account.

I have looked at the Fisher HT's & BOSS (not sure the model) straight blades. I would like to go new on the blade & spreader to avoid trying to find the exact match for a truck, and the wear & tear on a used blade. I think that is the right way to go?

The blade is the "easy" part. We do not yet have a truck. I have asked around (plow dealers) and someone who plows, and they pretty much say a 1/2 ton truck shoud be fine for our use. Is this true? (ideal would be 3/4 to 1 ton) Again - this will only plow this property & maybe family's drive ways if we really get hit hard here in Detroit. I have been looking thru the local Craigs list (dealers since we want to finance). We are not looking for a "plow truck". Do not want someone elses problems!