1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Residential hourly rate

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by TacticalMustard, Oct 14, 2011.

1. TacticalMustard

TacticalMustard Junior Member
    from RI

I was offered either $25/hr, or $20/hr +fuel to do a few hours of plowing each storm this winter. I have limited experience plowing. Mostly friends/family/neighbor's driveways and a small parking lot the past few years with their pickups/snow blowers/quads and I've got a strong back and a snow blower.

This year I picked up a plow for my truck and wanted to make that investment back this winter. I was always told $30 minimum, and try to average $120 an hour on my own, and that seems to be the going rate.

Now that I have a plow I have picked up a few driveways already, and have a landscaper friend offer me $25/hr to do his extra driveways. Probably 15 or so small ones he doesn't have time for, he thinks a few hours worth. He wants me to have someone with me to clear off the walkways/sidewalks/steps while I plow. After some talking I got him to cover my fuel, but then he'd only pay $20 per hour +fuel. I asked if a price per driveway would work, and asked for $15 a driveway (based on the fact I know he charges at least $30). The response was that he wouldn't make any profit at that point. I'd love to help him out, but it just doesn't seem worth my time and resources at $20/hr and having to pay somone $10 to help me.