1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Residential Contract

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by jonathanethan, Nov 24, 2003.

1. jonathanethan

jonathanethan Junior Member

Hey guys.......I need a copy of a residential/commercial contract.....
    Where can I find one, or does anyone have a contract I can use?
    Needless to say, I'm new to the snowplowing game and need a little help getting started.
    Thanks so much!!

2. Luppy

Luppy Senior Member

Around here we don't use contracts for residential work. (average driveway 2-4 car = 25.00 per plow)

Only time we get into written contracts with residential customers is if the driveways are very large and the customer wants to get into a per-season rate rather than a per plow.

I hope you find what you're looking for though.

3. jonathanethan

jonathanethan Junior Member

Thank you for the response

Hey thanks ....
    I appreciate the input....reason I asked.....
    I was asked by two customers, for a contract. Both of whom were residences....

4. CPSS

CPSS Senior Member

CAUTION, if you don't have a contract, there is an increased liability issue. By stating in writing what you will and will not be responsible for, you may limit your liability. Without a contract, the customer may assume that you will be doing certain things that you had no intention of doing. Thats where law suits stem from.

A properly worded contract not only spells out exactly what your responsibilities are, but it may also help to collect money from someone who is a little slow paying. When we plowed residentials, we always had the customer sign a contract at the beginning of the season even though all our billing was a "per push" charge.