1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Residental Wind Blown Snow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by TurfSolutionsMN, Jan 1, 2008.

1. TurfSolutionsMN

TurfSolutionsMN Senior Member
    from MN

I am new to the residential driveway snow removal business. This winter I picked up 30 residential accounts, I am used to commercial sidewalk removal. So if there was any wind blown snow at all I would go remove it, but do you do the same for residential? I personally like driveways totally clear of snow, so I think I should go clean them again. But I'm pretty sure some will complain that i'm just adding up the bill. Do you think I should call them all first? Any help would be great!!
  2. Krimick77

Krimick77 Member

For me, it really depends on how bad it is. If the drifts are deep than yes I will plow them. But if there is one or two spots in the drive with a narrow band of a few inches than I usually leave it.

Mostly depends on what I think each customer wants. I have some that I only plow after 4 inches and others that want plowed at 1"
  3. NJ Plowman

NJ Plowman Senior Member

When you are getting paid to clear the sidewalks, why would you leave a narrow band of a few inches? Wouldn't you be liable if someone gets injured on the ice that you left? And wouldn't the person who pays you be pissed that there is a few inches left on the sidewalk?

No offence, but I would figure that you need to keep it totally clean...that's what we do.
  4. Up North

Up North Senior Member