1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Reconfigure Ultra Mount for 02 Silverado

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by 02ChevyMI, Feb 13, 2010.

1. 02ChevyMI

02ChevyMI Junior Member

I am new to plowing. Purchased a used Ultra Mount that was assembled for some other vehicle.

I have hooked up the mounts and wiring. My issue is this unit was obviously assembled for something with a much higher frame.

I have downloaded and printed the instructions for this unit, as best as I can figure anyway, lots of models out there.

Anyway, I have everything working except for the height of the pivot pin at the base of the frame. We are working on getting the bolts out, but I am not sure those pins can be removed and moved to a higher hole without taking everything off the sides. The other issue I see is the fact that there may not be enough room even after moving to the highest set of holes. According to the manual, I need 9 3/4" to the center of the back bolt. I currently have just over 2"

Now for the questions. Are those pivot pins short enough to remove and move without completely taking it all apart? The brackets that are currently down low, can I get them up and out of the way or do I just need to torch them off to get the ground clearance I am hoping for?

Thanks in advance for any help you people might be able to give.

2. cubicinches

cubicinches PlowSite.com Addict