1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Rebuilding 89 YJ For Snow Removal

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by YJRob89, Oct 27, 2014.

1. YJRob89

YJRob89 Junior Member

Great site I've been lurking for a longtime and decide to join. Rebuilding my 1989 jeep YJ 4.2 5 speed with 7ft Meyers plow for residential snow removal and have some questions.

I've been plowing with this Jeep for close to 8 years doing residential driveways. It was stock! This summer blow one rear shock mount and rear track bar mount. So it was time for a make over.

I'm in the process of converting to external slave cylinder, ( amazing what mice can do to a jeeps clutch!) did the AutoRust treatment by replacing both tail ends, rear shock mount, and skid mount section. The rust was not terrible but I felt it needed to be done. POR-15 the frame and will be undercoating the jeep with Rust encapsulator. Planning on a 1" body lift to help in keeping the frame clean and future treatment.

My son who maybe driving the jeep soon wants to lift it.

Can I put a 2" leaf lift (BDS suspension) on it and still plow, any issues? Or should I just replace with stock leaf springs?

Gabriel hijackers air shocks all around (492222) any issues?

Is the 1" body lift an issue?

Should I just leave the original leaf spring and add just the air shocks?

Need help designing a real rear bumper rear cross frame member was cut around allowing for the new tail sections still intact top and bottom for gas tank installation.

Any answers and advise is greatly appreciated and I'm thankful in advance.
  2. Hubjeep

Hubjeep Senior Member

Hello Rob, in NY here too (Long Island).

The 1" body lift should be no problem, as it does not lift the frame.