1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Raking Back Stone

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by asesler277, Feb 23, 2016.

1. asesler277

asesler277 Junior Member

Hi guys. I'm new to plowing this year. I'm only 17 and have started my own business. My question is when you guys plow residential stone driveways and end up plowing a little stone with it, do you guys charge to rake it back in and fix the grass? If so, how do you base your pricing?

2. thelettuceman

thelettuceman PlowSite.com Addict

I point out to the customer that due to the surface of your driveway, I cannot be responsible for plowing stone with the snow. Don't make extra work for yourself!Thumbs Up

3. MIDTOWNPC

MIDTOWNPC PlowSite Veteran

It happens

Stihl power broom is awesome for this job

4. allagashpm

allagashpm Senior Member

I do and charge hourly. Fixing grass isn't a big deal most of the time if you get out early enough you can just plop it back down while it's still dormant.
    Power broom for gravel and stone works awesome.

5. sven1277

sven1277 Senior Member

If customers complain, we'll fix it free of charge. Goes a long way to keeping happy customers. Its one of the reasons we'll charge a little extra per plow on a gravel drive. That and because its harder on the equipment.

6. FBN

FBN Member

When I do gravel drives i try not to push any piles past the borders of the drive if possible. When the snow melts in the spring and leaves a pile you just go back quick with the plow and back blade it smooth.

7. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

You must not get lot of snow if you can leave it right on the edge of the drive...