1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Radio interference on brand new f350

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by Hopalong, Dec 21, 2015.

1. Hopalong

Hopalong Junior Member

So I am a mechanic for the local government. I "received" a brand new f350 with a boss 8'2" DXT already installed on the truck when I got it. I picked the truck up from the dealer, drove it to the shop, lifted the plow out of the truck with the fork lift and hooked it up to the truck. Everything went fine and worked perfect. Brought the truck into the shop with the plow on it to do some installs. We add and a marine grade fuse panel under the hood to power the strobe, radio, and what ever other accessories the department that owns the truck want. Also at this time I installed a set of the newSL3 lights. After I hooked the battery back up from doing the above stated work, any time the plow motor runs I would get radio interference through the stereo, ALOT of it. Almost enough to blast you out of the cab. I did some homework and found that there have been a few issues with the new sl3 light kits causing similar issues, so I unplugged the lights. Issue is still there. I disconnected the battery and unplugged everything I previously installed. Still there. I disconnect the 13 wire plug on the bumper, left main power cables hooked up, and use my power probe to activate the main power solenoid under the hood and have a co worker sit in the cab... Still there.. I get in the truck and go to take it on a parts run, change the radio to my favorite FM frequency and the noise goes away!!!!