1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Questions from a new guy

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by davesgreensled, Sep 13, 2004.

1. davesgreensled

davesgreensled Junior Member
    from Calgary

Hello everyone.. cool site.

I live in Calgary, and ive been pushing residential snow for the past two years.... by hand. Just me and a shovel. This year I have some more money, and I want to invest in someting to make my life easier and more profitable.
    I have a regular list of clients, I shovel there sidewalk, there driveway(20-30 feet long, 2 car average), and there front step.

Would a plow for my truck do any good? would i be better off with a snowblower? what kind of plow could i use? I know i would probably still have to shovel the sidewalk and front step by hand, but it sure would be nice to speed things up on the driveway.

any thoughts, advise, or insight would be much appreciated.

dave

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

With driveways only 20' - 30' feet, you must live in the city. The only way a plow would be beneficial is if you could just pull in, drop the plow and push straight ahead with plenty of room to push in and allow for future pushes. Otherwise, I'd suggest a snowblower, especially if there are bushes to contend with or other obstacles, like a garage at the end. You'd still have to snowblow the sidewalks and shovel the porch.

3. cja1987

cja1987 PlowSite.com Addict

welcome to plowsite
    What kind of truck do you have, is it 4X4?

4. davesgreensled

from Calgary

Thanks!! My truck is a 1994 Chev 3/4 4X4