1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Questions about my new plow.

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Snowmogger, Jul 28, 2008.

1. Snowmogger

Snowmogger Junior Member

Hey guys. I'm very new to plowing and just bought my first plow. Perhaps this is not where this post belongs but I'm putting it here because this is very clearly commercial snow equipment. If it needs moving then please do. Anyway here it goes. I have a unimog with a schmidt MF3.4 multi section plow. The cutting edges are steel and are connected to the main part of the blade with a piece of rubber (it's like rubber but it's yellow. Probably something more high tech) this allows the cutting edge to pivot back and then lift that section of the plow over the obstacle. I need new rubber pieces and cutting edges but I'm too cheap to buy 4 schmidt rubbers (shock plate) at 150 each and 4 schmidt edges at 86 each. Anyone have any ideas of an alternative? The rubber is about 1 1/8" thick and about 8" wide and goes the length of the blades. I thought about using a rubber plow blade as the "shock plate". Any info would be appreciated. Here is a pic of the monster in question. Thanks!!

[​IMG]

2. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

what about using a poly cutting edge... its kind alike rubber, but stiffer, it is yellow

3. Camden

Camden PlowSite Fanatic

I don't have an answer for you but how about a little info on that truck...it looks sweet! What year...engine...ect???

4. Snowmogger

Snowmogger Junior Member

I thought about a poly edge but I still need that rubber shock plate of some sort.