1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question Regarding Season Long Contract

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by holstonsnow, Jan 19, 2012.

1. holstonsnow

holstonsnow Junior Member

As I have stated in a previous post, this is my first year plowing commercially, so I am wondering how to handle a contract issue. I have a particular customer who signed a contract back on Nov 12 for plowing service at their residence through May 1st. She chose a payment plan that I offer to pay the first payment of the season price at the time of the contract signing(which covered her from the signing of the contract until the 1st of Jan.), and the second half would be due by the 10th of Jan(which she has payed, and covers services for the remainder of the season). Because of a different job that I work, I gave all my customers a choice of their preferred time to be plowed...either in the mornings before 10, or in the evenings after 6. This particular customer asked to be plowed before 10 each morning, and the contract was for every 4' of snow. As of 10am this morning, we had accumulated 2' of snow since the last time I plowed. She is now telling me that she had an appointment to be at this afternoon and had to shovel her driveway to get out to it because there was now approx 5" of snow accumulated. I explained to her that she chose to be plowed in the mornings, and at 10am this morning there was not enough snow to plow. Well she seems to think that I am responsible for her having to shovel and have now broken the contract with her. She informed that she wanted to end our agreement, which I was okay with, as long as it was on my terms. I offered to return her second payment to her, minus th