1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question regarding carbide

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Weav, Dec 17, 2014.

1. Weav

Weav Junior Member
    from USA

I work in the carbide industry, and one of my customers swears he uses a 3/4" x 6" x 4' blade made entirely of carbide. I told him that's a size normally given for a steel blade into which carbide is brazed. You guys are the ones using the end products...can you help me out a little?
    ¬_¬
    ~the carbide guy

Last edited: Dec 17, 2014
  2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

What plow is that going on? 4' ain't close to standard size.
    And how heavy is that thing?

3. Weav

Weav Junior Member
    from USA

dieselss, I don't really know! I provide the carbide that is used as the wearing edge for plows...but I admit I'm a little ignorant when it comes to the practical application.
    ¬_¬
    ~the carbide guy

4. Fhawk52

Fhawk52 Junior Member

We use the brazed in carbide in 2 ,3, or 4 ' sections lined together side by side to add up to the full plow width and a 1 piece full length steel bolted through the carbide to the plow.

5. Weav

Weav Junior Member
    from USA

Is the carbide 4' long or is that the steel blade, with small inch-long carbide inserts? Anyone have pictures?

6. quigleysiding

quigleysiding PlowSite.com Addict

7. Weav

Weav Junior Member
    from USA

I'm familiar with Kennametal as they would be considered competition. The more I read the more it looks like there's no such thing as a solid carbide blade...only steel blades with carbide inserts. If anyone can disprove that notion I'd love to hear about it!

8. Doughboy12

Doughboy12 PlowSite Fanatic