1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question For Tire Chain Users

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by darryl g, Jan 10, 2011.

1. darryl g

darryl g Senior Member
    from CT

I have a question for those of you who use tire chains. I'm a noob as far as using chains go. I bought a set of chains for the rear of my Silverado last season in case I need them for big storms. Well it looks like one is on it's way. 12-18 inches forcasted for my area between Midnight and 6pm Wednesday. I'm running all season radials that still have decent tread depth but have kind of lost their bite. I've been doing fine so far this season but don't think they'll be too great in this storm...certainly less than ideal. I thought about getting a set of dedicated snows this season but just couldn't justify it at this point, especially since I do have chains.

So the question is, do you just go ahead and chain up before it snows or do you wait until you really need them?

I'm thinking I'd rather do it during the day tomorrow when I'm in no rush, it's warm and I'm in a fairly controlled environment rather than on the side of the road or something during the storm. It's easy enough to take them off if I decide I don't need them.

I'll be out plowing with the storm as long as I can see where I'm going and there's a pretty good chance the storm will get ahead of the road crews, so things could get a little deep. If it gets really nasty I've got a good sized parking lot I'll just stay at. That's what I did during the 20 inch storm we got in December of 2009.

I did put the chains on once last season just to make sure I knew how and it was pretty easy with the cams, but I'm certainly no pro at it.