1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question for those with experience.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by MarksTLC, Feb 27, 2007.

1. MarksTLC

MarksTLC Senior Member

I'm new to the snow removal arena. I've found that most of the work I have in my locale is driveways. My Dodge is not necessarily the right equipment.

Can you recommend a better ride for me. I think I'm looking for a standard or ext cab truck with the most room for additional weight as well as capable of carrying a 7.5 of larger plow. I suppose the shorter the wheel base the better, but please let me know what you think :confused: or what combo's work for you.

Thanks in advance, Mark
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Here we go!

WALKERS PlowSite.com Addict

xysport I believexysport :salute: :D
  4. DaySpring Services

DaySpring Services PlowSite.com Addict

What's wrong with your current ride? Just curious.

Dodge with Boss V for me!!
  5. MarksTLC

MarksTLC Senior Member

I have a meyers plow that worked fine, but has lost its luster (in my eyes)
    Since I'm looking at a new plow, I thought I'd like to see if maybe there was a better setup available. With the Meyers I had 400 + ballist in the back. This made it less than easy to carry a blower too. Am I crazy in hoping to find a setup that doesn't require ballist?
  6. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

You're not likely to find any setup where ballast is not recommended. Reason is that any truck is "balanced" as it is. Add a plow and now it's front heavy. So, you need to add ballast to bring it's balance back in line. How much ballast depends only on how heavy the plow is.