1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question for those plowing driveways

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Lawn Enforcer, Nov 25, 2009.

1. Lawn Enforcer

Lawn Enforcer Senior Member

I bought a Ford F250 with a 7 1/2 Meyer plow. Currently, it has no skid shoes on it. I'm worried about the plow scratching up the driveways, but if I put shoes on it, will it scrape the driveway clean? This is my first year using a plow, so I'm not sure how this will work. Thanks!

2. JR Snow Removal

JR Snow Removal Senior Member

Personally I have never ran shoes and I have never had a complaint about scratching driveways

3. Lawn Enforcer

Lawn Enforcer Senior Member

Ok, thank you much!

Also, any tips for plowing driveways anybody? I've only used a snowblower on driveways before.

4. rofoth6

rofoth6 Member
    from iowa

Don't hit the garage doors.:nod:

5. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Depends on the drive.
    Backdrag and then push it into the yard.

6. dchr

dchr Senior Member

:laughing:Good one!

7. Deco

Deco Senior Member

1) take your shoes off

8. BlackIrish

BlackIrish Senior Member

All my blades have a backdrag blade on them, does a better job of backdragging.

9. AndyTblc

AndyTblc Senior Member

I don't run shoes, Like they said it depends on the driveways, go up to the garage door without hitting it, drop the plow, put it in reverse then pull back, if you have to move the snow a long way in reverse, you will do a better job if you pulled back then turned around the pushed the snow towards the end of the drive. Yup.

10. asps4u

asps4u Senior Member

Plow barefoot. Don't need shoes unless you get out to shovel the walks.

11. snocrete