1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question about transporting a plow

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Gsharp101, Sep 28, 2016.

1. Gsharp101

Gsharp101 Junior Member

Hello everyone,
    I'm new to snow plowing (and this forum) so please be tolerant if my questions seem
    rather....ummm stupid.

I have two properties to clear snow from. One is a four car dive way at my house and the other is a small 7 car parking lot at my machine shop which is 6 miles away

I'm considering buying a Meyer's home plow #23250 to plow them both. That's all I'm buying the plow for...nothing commercial and no other driveways...etc.

The Meyer's instructions say that I can only transport the plow going no more than 10 mph. What is the reason for this?

Can I rig up a safety chain to the plow so I can go a little faster?

I will be plowing with my Jeep TJ and would like to transport on local roads at 35 mph if they are plowed by the town.... of course a lot slower if they are not.

Thanks,
    Gary

2. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

I think you read it wrong. Most\all manufacturers suggest plowing not faster than 10 MPH. Transport speeds are usually 45 MPH.

Both are CYA from the manufacturers. And stupid.

3. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Yes cyoa. We ALL have gone faster then the 45 recommend top speed and I'm sure none of us have had any issues.

4. Mark Oomkes

Some may have even plowed at 45 MPH.

chevyhauler likes this.
  5. dieselss

. I've put it in 4th a few times.....So maybe 40

6. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

Like this joker.....

1olddogtwo likes this.
  7. dieselss

I have no affiliation with.that man outside of hooters or bw3